Only a Nerd Would Get Excited About a Bookcase

I’m a nerd. I accept it and am one with it. Ergo, one of the things that I’m most excited about in my future apartment is my bookcase.

Reading is a passion of mine and over the years I’ve read an absurdly high number of books. Unfortunately, I can never remember what I’ve read because there have been so many. This is why I’m stoked about the bookcase.

I can’t wait to have a mini-library of what I’ve read and what I plan on reading. I figure all that time spent commuting from Alexandria to D.C. will provide ample reading time– something I didn’t have while in college because I was too busy procrastinating to truly enjoy those invigorating textbooks.

A lot of my friends are avid readers, too, so I thought it would be fun to keep a running list of books I’ve read or plan to read. I’ll pepper in some reviews so if I stumble across anything exceptional or downright awful, you’ll know what to add to your own reading lists.

So what’s the next book this nerd will add to her bookcase? Charlotte Bronte’s Jane Eyre.

Photo credit: Freshome.com

8 Comments »

  1. DC is my Manhattan Said:

    Hee, I totally understand! When I first checked out my DC apt., the main thing that made me fall in love were the built-in bookshelves. I was sold when I saw the rows and rows of shelves. My babies would have a home!

  2. Tory Lynne Said:

    Bookshelf my ass- one day, I’m going to have my own damn library!

    P.S. Jane Eyre is amazing. Get through the first 75 pages or so and you won’t be able to put it down.

    -T

  3. Ben Said:

    Hey! Hope you don’t mind me popping by, I noticed my spot on the blogroll 🙂

    I LOVE the colour-coded bookshelf. If only my books were perfectly rainbowed, I could be living the dream.

  4. audreyesque Said:

    @Tory Well, duh. That’s the goal, isn’t it?

    @Ben Of course I don’t mind! I enjoy your blog and glad you stopped by mine. I, too, am a huge fan of the rainbow bookcase… I saw it in a magazine and they talked about going to stores and just buying a book for its cover. Now, isn’t that different than what we’ve always been told? Ha!

  5. Nat Said:

    I’m trying to get back into reading. I haven’t really finished a book for a while now. Thanks for motivating me. 🙂

  6. audreyesque Said:

    @Nat You just made my night– anytime I motivate someone to read, it’s been a good day and a successful post! Good luck!

  7. laura Said:

    I love this post for -oh, I don’t even know how many reasons.
    Love color coordinated bookshelves.
    Love that someone else is dorky enough to blog about bookshelves, too.
    Love that you are reading Jane Eyre! A lot of people seem to despise it, but it is definitely one of my favorites. When you finish it, follow it up with Wide Sargasso Sea by Jean Rhys. You’ll look at Jane Eyre in a completely different light.

  8. audreyesque Said:

    @Laura Thank you so much for the many reasons of love! Since this blog is pretty new, I’m still in that “I need confidence boosts a lot of I’m going to cry” stage so this was perfect-o. I will definitely add that book to my list– gracias!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

